Rogers’ Innovation Process Model

Everett Rogers’ model for innovation diffusion helps us assess at which stage an organization is in applying a certain innovation.

There are 5 stages:

  1. Agenda Setting – Defining an organizational problem and its perceived need for an innovation.
  2. Matching – An organization fits its particular agenda to a specific innovation. This is the critical stage where an organization decides to adopt an innovation.
  3. Redefining & Restructuring – This stage involves altering the innovation to to accommodate the needs of the organization or vice versa.
  4. Clarifying – Putting the innovation to widspread use and getting people to be familiar with it.
  5. Routinization – The innovation becomes incorporated into regular activities and loses its separate identity as an innovation.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s